The Nobel Peace Prize for 2011 was awarded to three amazing women earlier this morning in London. The distinguished recipients were, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf — Africa’s first elected female president -, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman of Yemen, a pro-democracy campaigner, according to the New York Times.

The women were given the award,”for their nonviolent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work,” the Nobel Peace Prize committee said. The three women were exstatic about their awards and were anxious to share it with their countries. Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf said,  “I’m accepting this on behalf of the Liberian people, so credit goes to them. For the past eight years, we have had peace and each and every one of them has contributed to this peace,” she told CNN after her win.

Men have been the predominant winners in the awards 110-year history, but this year the women were in control. The last time a woman won the Nobel Peace Price was in 2004 when the late Professor Wangari Maathai took the award home to Kenya. The head of the Oslo-based Nobel committee that chooses the winner, Thorbjorn Jagland, had this to say in reference to the winners, ” “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society,” he told the Times.

We applaud these wonderful women for all they have accomplished thus far and for the good works they will continue to do in their countries. Brava!


Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter