#trending

Facebook-Settings

Do you see that setting circled in red? Well it won’t be around for much longer. If you’re not already using the timeline search setting, don’t worry, you obviously didn’t care who searched for you. But for the other people, like myself, in a couple of weeks it’ll no longer exist.

According to Facebook the feature was created when the social network was simply a directory of profiles. Now, though, Facebook says this privacy setting has become more confusing than helpful especially since the advent of Graph Search, which lets users search for each other and for status updates, and open groups that show profile pictures and images to anyone in the group.

Facebook Chief Privacy Officer Michael Richter explains why it will no longer exist:

“The setting was created when Facebook was a simple directory of profiles and it was very limited. For example, it didn’t prevent people from navigating to your Timeline by clicking your name in a story in News Feed, or from a mutual friend’s Timeline. Today, people can also search Facebook using Graph Search (for example, “People who live in Seattle,”) making it even more important to control the privacy of the things you share rather than how people get to your Timeline,” he says.

“The setting also made Facebook’s search feature feel broken at times. For example, people told us that they found it confusing when they tried looking for someone who they knew personally and couldn’t find them in search results, or when two people were in a Facebook Group and then couldn’t find each other through search.”

Well for those who are frustrated with the lack of privacy on Facebook, there’s always the delete option. To actually delete your account, you have to fill out a brief form.But I do suggest downloading your Facebook history first, available under “General Settings,” in case you want to look back at all of the braggadocious posts you’ve made and the selfies in the bathroom mirror you’ve taken.

Tags: ,
Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter
  • So, I’m confused. Does this mean that anyone will be able to see everything I post on Facebook? Or that anyone will be able to find my profile on Facebook, and will only be able to see things that I have marked as public?

    • I think its the latter.

    • Anyone can look your name up and find you in a public search (like google). It will be up to you to navigate the complicated features they put in place to block things from people you don’t want to see them – or only make posts, etc. available to people you DO want to see them. I’m most comfortable with people not being able to find me in a search engine at all – only friends of friends. This sucks, but the company knows the majority of people will keep our accounts open because Facebook has become a way of life. despite the fact that our personal information is being used and disseminated.

  • And… I guess I’ll cancel Facebook now.

  • vintage3000

    I think it’s even more shocking that so many people regard Facebook as their lifeline to the world. I read a study last year that says many people check their FB first thing in the morning on a daily basis. Is it that serious? If you are so worried about being found then CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT.

  • Big brother is definitely watching. Their rationale for dismantling this privacy feature is not a strong one at all. They basically want to sell more data and make more money.

    • ajaveen

      I agree.

  • Ms. Write

    Am I the only one who feels like they were talking in circles when trying to explain their reasoning?? Oh Zuckerberg, what happened?