On Wednesday, Missouri legislators passed a law that will now require women to wait 72 hours after consulting with a physician before terminating a pregnancy.
Republican lawmakers overruled the veto of Democratic Gov. Jay Nixon, who condemned the piece of legislation as “extreme and disrespectful” to women. Nixon argued it made no exceptions for rape or incest cases.
Missouri’s House dominated Gov. Nixon’s veto by a 117-44 vote. In addition, Senators implemented a rare move to halt a Democratic filibuster and completed the veto override by a 23-7 vote, according to Al Jazeera.
Missouri joins Utah and South Dakota as the only three states to require a 72-hour waiting period. However, Utah’s legislation grants exceptions for rape, incest and other circumstances.
Those who support this new legislation refer to it as a 72-hour “reflection period” for women and their families.
“[If] you get a couple of more days to think about this pregnancy, think about where it’s going, you may change your mind,” said Rep. Kathie Conway, a Republican from St. Charles.
Conversely, Rep. Judy Morgan, a Democrat from Kansas City, said, “It’s designed to demean and shame a woman in an effort to change her mind.”
The new legislation will take effect in 30 days.