The Obama campaign released its 2012 Campaign playlist for our listening pleasure today, and the selections reveal a shift from 2008’s message of hope and change to one of commitment and stick-to-it optimism for 2012. Yes, Al Green’s “Let’s Stay Together,” which the president so sweetly crooned for us a few weeks ago, made its way on to the list, along with other songs about comeback and union.

The 24-song list features classics like Earth, Wind, And Fire’s “Got To Get You Into My Life,” The Impressions’ “Keep On Pushing,” and Aretha Franklin’s “The Weight,” along with newer music such as Raphael Saadiq’s “Keep Marchin,'” Ledisi’s “Raise Up,” and Jennifer Hudson’s “Love You I Do” from Dreamgirls. The list also inexplicably contains not one but two songs by former Hootie and The Blowfish frontman Darius Rucker, which is the kind of music that, now that I’m forced to think about it, I can imagine our president listening to on the low.

The playlist is accessible to everyone through Spotify.

What do you think of these selections?

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter